Nonfiction Review: MacArthur’s Spies

Available now: MacArthur’s Spies by Peter Eisner ****4/5 stars Happy 4th of July from The Soldier, the Singer, and the Spymaster who defied the Japanese in World War II Recommended readers: History Buffs World War II buffs Spy novel fans Here’s my Rankings: 4/5 overall REVIEW FROM BOOKS FOR HER: What’s better than a World War II spy novel with a enigmatic woman at the center? … Continue reading Nonfiction Review: MacArthur’s Spies

Lord of Lies Amy Sands

Lord of Lies | Amy Sandas

*** 3.5/5: Liked it to the edge of love- a stage 1 crush A fun, adventurous historical romance from Amy Sandas. Recommended readers: If you like Historical Romance If you like a character with spunk Here’s my Rankings: 3.5/5 for characters 3/5 for plot 3.5/5 overall REVIEW FROM BOOKS FOR HER: When Portia Chadwick’s sister is kidnapped, she finds the best spy for the job: Nightshade. Only there’s something intriguing … Continue reading Lord of Lies | Amy Sandas

Addicted to the Duke

*** 3/5: Liked it, through and through Addicted to the Duke is a bold and passionate adventure from England to the Mediterranean. Recommended readers: If you like historical romances and sailing the seas If you like some serious passion Here’s my Rankings: 3/5 for characters 3/5 for plot 3.5/5 overall REVIEW FROM BOOKS FOR HER: Who can resist a sailing Duke? Only Alexander Bracken, Duke of Bedford, has … Continue reading Addicted to the Duke

blue heaven black night heather graham

Blue Heaven, Black Night by Heather Graham

**** 4.5 stars: Loved it and probably stayed up all night reading and developing real feelings for fictional people. This Middle-Ages romantic drama will keep you up all night reading. Recommended readers: If you like Heather Graham If you want an action-packed historical read If you like Middle Age period fiction Here’s my Rankings: 4/5 for characters 3/5 for plot 3.5/5 overall REVIEW FROM BOOKS FOR HER: The … Continue reading Blue Heaven, Black Night by Heather Graham

The Book of Summer by Michelle Gable

*** 3.5/5: Liked it to the edge of love- a stage 1 crush A must-read for any Jane Eyre fan, Mr. Rochester gives us another perspective of the classic novel. Recommended readers: If you like women’s fiction and family drama If you want a slow and steady read that spans generations If you like Michelle Gable Here’s my Rankings: 5/5 for characters 4/5 for plot 5/5 overall REVIEW … Continue reading The Book of Summer by Michelle Gable

The Perfect Stranger by Megan Miranda

**** 4/5: Loved it A brain-busting thriller, The Perfect Stranger is another intricate plot from Megan Miranda. Recommended readers: Fans of Gillian Flynn’s Gone Girl, Paula Hawkin’s The Girl on the Train If you like psychological thrillers and Megan Miranda’s first All the Missing Girls If you want a brain-busting, page-turner Here’s my Rankings: 4/5 for characters 3/5 for plot 3.5/5 overall REVIEW FROM BOOKS FOR HER: Leah … Continue reading The Perfect Stranger by Megan Miranda

Ilsa by Madeleine L’Engle

*** 3.5/5: Liked it to the edge of love- a stage 1 crush You would never guess this novel came from a renouned children’s author. It’s dark. And real. Recommended readers: If you loved The Wrinkle in Time and want to be surprised by the famous author’s other works If you like slow reading storytelling with too-real character Here’s my Rankings: 4/5 for characters 3/5 for plot … Continue reading Ilsa by Madeleine L’Engle

Mr. Rochester by Sarah Shoemaker

*** 3.5/5: Liked it to the edge of love- a stage 1 crush A must-read for any Jane Eyre fan, Mr. Rochester gives us another perspective of the classic novel. Recommended readers: If you like Jane Eyre If you want a slow and steady historical read Here’s my Rankings: 4/5 for characters 3/5 for plot 3.5/5 overall REVIEW FROM BOOKS FOR HER: A classic for the ages, Jane Eyre by … Continue reading Mr. Rochester by Sarah Shoemaker

Review: The Patriots by Sana Krasikov

Available now: The Patriots by Sana Krasikov ****4/5 stars-loved it A multi-generational Russian-American-expat saga told in three parts, from pre- soviet Russia to post. Recommended readers: If you are a fan of historical fiction, and a devotee of the bleak Russian novel, this one is for you. Here’s my Rankings: 4/5 for characters 4/5 for plot 4/5 overall REVIEW FROM BOOKS FOR HER: At the heart of the debut … Continue reading Review: The Patriots by Sana Krasikov

Lucky Boy by Shanthi Sekaran

Available Jan. 10: Lucky Boy ****4/5 stars More thoughtful than entertaining, in Lucky Boy there is no right or wrong ending – just a taste of life. Recommended readers: If you enjoy thoughtful, real life reads If you like to step into someone else’s shoes via fiction Here’s my Rankings: 4/5 characters 4/5 plot 4/5 overall REVIEW FROM BOOKS FOR HER: Two people who grow up in different … Continue reading Lucky Boy by Shanthi Sekaran