Month: November 2015

Review: The Bronte Plot

Available now: The Bronte Plot by Katherine Reay

**2.5/5 stars- it was ok

When rare books dealer Lucy Alling is discovered in a lie, she must travel to England and revisit the story of the Bronte Sisters in order to begin to set things right.

Recommended readers:

  • If you like to follow a character along on a journey to a foreign country,
  • and if you’re a Bronte fan, this one is for you.

Here’s my Rankings:

  • 2.5/5 for characters
  • 2.5/5 for plot
  • 2.5/5 overall

REVIEW FROM BOOKS FOR HER:

I always enjoy a journey book, especially when the travel involves England, but somewhere this one fell a little short for me. I did not much like or feel sympathy for the main character, whose sneaky methods to increase the value of rare books lose her the respect of her boss, the love of her boyfriend, and somewhere along the line, the attention of this reader. The novel was somewhat of an odd mix of literary and interior decorating references, and while the former was definitely the strength of the book, I found that all the decorating and paint color references distracted from “The Bronte Plot” at the center of the story.

Available on Amazon: The Bronte Plot

Kid Athletes: True Tales of Childhood from Sports Legends

Available November 17: Kid Athletes: True Tales of Childhood from Sports Legends (Kid Legends)

**** 4/5 stars- Loved it – great for kidsdstabler-kidathletes

A great read for any middle grade kid who likes sports.

Recommended readers:

  • If you’re a soccer mom or dad (or baseball, football, hockey, etc)
  • Kids into sports – recommended middle grades
  • And if you’re just a sports fan

Here’s my Rankings:

  • 5/5 for characters
  • 3/5 for plot
  • 4/5 overall

REVIEW FROM BOOKS FOR HER:

I loved the premise of this book – that amazing athletes who children idolize are real people too. As a parent, especially as my son is succeeding and failing at different activities, it’s a great perspective for him to have: That professional athletes are people who have won and lost throughout life. For my fourth-grader who is a Denver Broncos fan, he loved reading about Peyton Manning dancing the tango in front of his middle school. Other athletes included were Jackie Robinson, Yao Mind, Lionel Messi, Gabby Douglas, Tiger Woods and Danica Patrick. This is a fabulous read for middle grade kids who have an interest in sports – and covers a variety of sports, backgrounds and diversity with short stories and illustrations that make this especially good for middle grade readers.

Available now Amazon: Kid Athletes: True Tales of Childhood from Sports Legends (Kid Legends)

Review: Roped In

Available now: Roped In by L.P. Dover

**2/5 stars- not for me

Pursued by a killer, country music sensation Hadley Rivers is placed under the protection of a handsome bad boy and banished to the wilds of Wyoming, where no one will recognize her.  Because nobody listens to country music THERE.

Recommended readers:

  • romantic suspense and thriller fans

Here’s my Rankings:

  • 2/5 for characters
  • 2/5 for plot
  • 2/5 overall
  • 4/5 steaminess

REVIEW FROM BOOKS FOR HER:

I was momentarily pulled (okay, roped) in by this one’s cover, and when I read the description and laughed out loud I knew it was a diversion I had to take.  I was fully prepared to enjoy this one for all it professed to be, no more, no less, but in the end there was a single detail I simply could not get past. Both characters narrated in the first person, and it drove me insane.  I could never remember who was speaking! Other readers without this stumbling block may enjoy.

Available on Amazon: Roped In

Best Books for Gifts: Books for Her’s Top Books of 2015

The holidays are approaching and the perfect gift for friends, family and others is a good book. We’ve been reading all year and collected an amazing list of the best 4-star and 5-star books – and it’s quite a list! There’s a few authors repeating our list this year (Santa Montefiore and Beatriz Williams), but some new as well. We’re certainly fans of historical fiction (as more than half of our selects feature a historical plot) but mix in some thriller, action, romance and great young adult reads too.

Here’s the top reads from Books for Her reviewers in 2015:

Golden EarringsA powerful multi-generational saga of family, love and war, Golden Earrings is a must-read historical drama. Great for fans of family dramas like The Thornbirds, Sara Gruen (Water for Elephants) and historical European drama. (Genre: History- European, Drama, Romance)


Under a Dark Summer SkyAn epic tale of post-WWI struggles in a segregated world is magnified when a disastrous hurricane strikes. A must-read this summer, Under A Dark Summer Sky will appeal to all readers – books clubs and more. If you liked The Help or To Kill A Mockingbird and like to read semi-fiction – based on true events with fictional characters – this is for you. (Genre: History- post WWI, Drama, Based on a true story)


Shadow Fall (Tracers): A must-read for her or him, Shadow Fall has solidified Laura Griffin on our to-go author list. Laura Griffin is known for her political-terror drama plots, and Shadow Fall is a fast-paced read for any action-adventure romancer lovers or someone looking for a book for you and your guy. (Genre: Contemporary Fiction, Action-Thriller)


Along the Infinite Sea: Beatriz Williams strikes again with the final book of the Schuyler sisters series. With history and drama, this is a great book if you’re a Beatriz Williams fan, if you enjoy smart, fun fluff, and if you enjoy a good character and plot-driven page turner. A bonus if you’re new to Williams, Books for Her has rated all her books at 4-star or better: More from Beatriz Williams.  (Genre: History – Post WWII, Romance, Drama)


River of No Return: Move over Jack Ryan [Tom Clancy], Jake Trent [David Riley Bertsch] is your new national hero – or at least another good one. A good plot-driven, page-turner, David Riley Bertsch is a great pick for fans of Tom Clancy, James Patterson and some good adventure. Also recommended for outdoorsmen. (Genre: Contemporary fiction, Mystery)


23995231

Circling the Sun: This fascinating journey into the life of Kenyan expat Beryl Markham (expert horse trainer, aviator, and third point in Karen Blixen and Denys Finch-Hatton’s Out of Africa love triangle) is historical fiction at its best. (Gennre- Historical Fiction)


24827936

I Don’t Know How the Story Ends: In this young adult novel, two precocious young girls are drawn into the wild-west world of new Hollywood, with heartwarming and entertaining results. Though written for a younger audience, this little charmer has all of the good stuff: the power of framing a story, coming of age, and characters who leap off the page. (Genre- Young Adult, Historical Fiction)


The Beekeeper’s Daughter: For the second year Santa Montefiore makes our top list; The Beekeeper’s Daughter inspired a mix of fictional enjoyment and reflection. You’ll love it if you like fiction with some depth, if you think you’re really so different from your mother and if you like family drama, romance and history in one book. (Genre: History- multi generational, drama)


Ever After: In true Jude Deveraux style, you’ll stay up all night enjoying the third book in the Nantucket Brides Triology. This is a perfect post-holiday read, especially if you love Jude Deveraux, Nora Roberts and for those looking for a fun, fast all-nighter type of read. (Genre- contemporary fiction, romance)


Looking for something else?  Here’s some more books to browse:

Or if you don’t want to take the plunge a pick a book for a book-loving friend, try an Amazon gift card (they have a great selection of books – new and used) or even an audio book subscription.

amazon-audible-ad

The new Beatriz Williams is available today!

Available November 3rd: Along the Infinite Sea

****4.5/5 stars Loved it and was probably kept up at night reading…

Beatriz Williams strikes again with the final book of the Schuyler sisters series

Recommended readers:

  • If you’re a Beatriz Williams fan,
  • if you enjoy smart, fun fluff,
  • and if you enjoy a good character and plot-driven page turner, this book is for you.

Here’s my Rankings:

  • 4.5/5 for characters
  • 4.5/5 for plot
  • 4.5/5 overall
  • 3/5 steaminess

REVIEW FROM BOOKS FOR HER:

It’s 1966, and Pepper Schuyler (a real hot mess with a bun in the oven courtesy of her high-profile politician boss) is hiding out, contemplating her future,  and restoring a vintage Mercedes she found abandoned in old shed at the home of her brother in law’s family.  Enter the buyer, an enigmatic woman who has a story of her own: A Nazi husband, a love triangle,  and a fancy german roadster driven across the border at the eleventh hour.  It’s no secret by now that we’re a fan of Beatriz Williams here at Books for Her. Her books are just plain fun to read: compelling characters with such personality, engaging plots, and just the right amount of fluff and diversion, while still managing to be smart and compelling all rolled into one.  Seductress!  Keep doing what you’re doing, Beatriz.  And what a beautiful cover and title.

Available now on Amazon: Along the Infinite Sea