blue heaven black night heather graham

Blue Heaven, Black Night by Heather Graham

**** 4.5 stars: Loved it and probably stayed up all night reading and developing real feelings for fictional people. This Middle-Ages romantic drama will keep you up all night reading. Recommended readers: If you like Heather Graham If you want an action-packed historical read If you like Middle Age period fiction Here’s my Rankings: 4/5 for characters 3/5 for plot 3.5/5 overall REVIEW FROM BOOKS FOR HER: The … Continue reading Blue Heaven, Black Night by Heather Graham

The Book of Summer by Michelle Gable

*** 3.5/5: Liked it to the edge of love- a stage 1 crush A must-read for any Jane Eyre fan, Mr. Rochester gives us another perspective of the classic novel. Recommended readers: If you like women’s fiction and family drama If you want a slow and steady read that spans generations If you like Michelle Gable Here’s my Rankings: 5/5 for characters 4/5 for plot 5/5 overall REVIEW … Continue reading The Book of Summer by Michelle Gable

The Perfect Stranger by Megan Miranda

**** 4/5: Loved it A brain-busting thriller, The Perfect Stranger is another intricate plot from Megan Miranda. Recommended readers: Fans of Gillian Flynn’s Gone Girl, Paula Hawkin’s The Girl on the Train If you like psychological thrillers and Megan Miranda’s first All the Missing Girls If you want a brain-busting, page-turner Here’s my Rankings: 4/5 for characters 3/5 for plot 3.5/5 overall REVIEW FROM BOOKS FOR HER: Leah … Continue reading The Perfect Stranger by Megan Miranda

Ilsa by Madeleine L’Engle

*** 3.5/5: Liked it to the edge of love- a stage 1 crush You would never guess this novel came from a renouned children’s author. It’s dark. And real. Recommended readers: If you loved The Wrinkle in Time and want to be surprised by the famous author’s other works If you like slow reading storytelling with too-real character Here’s my Rankings: 4/5 for characters 3/5 for plot … Continue reading Ilsa by Madeleine L’Engle

Mr. Rochester by Sarah Shoemaker

*** 3.5/5: Liked it to the edge of love- a stage 1 crush A must-read for any Jane Eyre fan, Mr. Rochester gives us another perspective of the classic novel. Recommended readers: If you like Jane Eyre If you want a slow and steady historical read Here’s my Rankings: 4/5 for characters 3/5 for plot 3.5/5 overall REVIEW FROM BOOKS FOR HER: A classic for the ages, Jane Eyre by … Continue reading Mr. Rochester by Sarah Shoemaker

The Dangerous Billionaire

Available now: The Dangerous Billionaire by Jackie Ashenden ***3/5 stars-liked it Okay, I admit it.  I pick out a book for its evocative cover. Recommended readers: If you like adventurous romance If you want a mindless, escapist read Here’s my Rankings: 3/5 for characters 3/5 for plot 3/5 overall REVIEW FROM BOOKS FOR HER: The Dangerous Billionaire was exactly what the doctor ordered. It’s a great read for one of those days … Continue reading The Dangerous Billionaire

Review: A Bridge Across the Ocean

Available now: A Bridge Across the Ocean by Susan Meissner ***3/5 stars-liked it A supernatural historical mystery from the bestselling author of Secrets of a Charmed Life. Recommended readers: fans of the historical and present-day mystery revealed in dueling chapters fans of supernatural mystery Here’s my Rankings: 3/5 for characters 3/5 for plot 3/5 overall REVIEW FROM BOOKS FOR HER: This plot and character-driven page turner follows the fate … Continue reading Review: A Bridge Across the Ocean

Available Now: Girl in Disguise

Available now: Girl in Disguise by Greer Macallister ***3/5 stars-liked it “Someone has to be first…” From the author of The Magician’s Lie, a novel about the first female Pinkerton agent. Recommended readers: If you like a strong female character, and if you like real figures in your historical fiction, this novel is for you. Here’s my Rankings: 3/5 for characters 3/5 for plot 3/5 overall REVIEW FROM BOOKS FOR HER: … Continue reading Available Now: Girl in Disguise

Review: The Patriots by Sana Krasikov

Available now: The Patriots by Sana Krasikov ****4/5 stars-loved it A multi-generational Russian-American-expat saga told in three parts, from pre- soviet Russia to post. Recommended readers: If you are a fan of historical fiction, and a devotee of the bleak Russian novel, this one is for you. Here’s my Rankings: 4/5 for characters 4/5 for plot 4/5 overall REVIEW FROM BOOKS FOR HER: At the heart of the debut … Continue reading Review: The Patriots by Sana Krasikov