Coming June 27th: The Confusion of Languages

Available June 27th: The Confusion of Languages by Siobhan Fallon ****5/5 stars- loved it and stayed up all night reading literary fiction An intimate look into the lives of two very different American women living abroad amid the Arab Spring, with shattering consequences. Recommended readers: If you like suspenseful literary fiction, if you are interested in the expat experience in the Middle East, and if … Continue reading Coming June 27th: The Confusion of Languages

blue heaven black night heather graham

Blue Heaven, Black Night by Heather Graham

**** 4.5 stars: Loved it and probably stayed up all night reading and developing real feelings for fictional people. This Middle-Ages romantic drama will keep you up all night reading. Recommended readers: If you like Heather Graham If you want an action-packed historical read If you like Middle Age period fiction Here’s my Rankings: 4/5 for characters 3/5 for plot 3.5/5 overall REVIEW FROM BOOKS FOR HER: The … Continue reading Blue Heaven, Black Night by Heather Graham

Leopard at the Door by Jennifer McVeigh

Available tomorrow: Leopard at the Door by Jennifer McVeigh *****4.5/5 stars Like Gone with the Wind, but set in 1950s British-occupied Kenya: You’ll love it! Recommended readers: Fans of British history If you like Gone with the Wind for its historical insights and feels If you like fictional history and a mix of genres Here’s my Rankings: 4/5 for characters 5/5 for plot 4.5/5 overall REVIEW FROM BOOKS FOR HER: … Continue reading Leopard at the Door by Jennifer McVeigh

Review: Amor Towles’ A Gentleman in Moscow

A Gentleman in Moscow is available now *****5/5 stars Amor Towles does it again with prose, plot, and characters who grab hold and won’t let go.  Need a gift this Christmas?  This is it. Recommended readers: Fans of Rules of Civility and Eve in Hollywood Russian history and literature aficionados Anyone who revels in both great writing and great storytelling Here’s my Rankings: 5/5 for characters 5/5 … Continue reading Review: Amor Towles’ A Gentleman in Moscow

Fates and Traitors, A John Wilkes Booth Novel

Available now: Fates and Traitors, A Novel of John Wilkes Booth ****4/5 stars If you’re a fan of history being humanized – Fates and Traitors is a fascinating retelling of the John Wilkes Booth’s life surrounding one of US history’s most notorious events. Recommended readers: Fans of history that If you like mystery-thrillers with some romance If you want a quick-reading mystery Here’s my Rankings: 4/5 for characters … Continue reading Fates and Traitors, A John Wilkes Booth Novel

Goodreads Top Books of the Year 2016

There’s three days left to vote in the 2016 Goodreads Choice Awards for your favorite books of 2016.  Even Erin and Terra at Books for Her didn’t have a chance to read them all – but we got through a lot of them and here’s our picks. Best Fiction: Eligible  by Curtis Sittenfeld Best Mystery & Thriller: All the Missing Girls by Megan Miranda Best Historical Fiction: … Continue reading Goodreads Top Books of the Year 2016

Darkest Journey by Heather Graham

Available Sept. 27: Darkest Journey ****4/5 stars Get immersed in this eerie Civil War town – and Heather Graham’s Darkest Journey, part of the Krewe of Hunters Series. Recommended readers: Fans of Heather Graham If you like mystery-thrillers with some romance If you want a quick-reading mystery Here’s my Rankings: 4/5 for characters 5/5 for plot 4/5 overall REVIEW FROM BOOKS FOR HER:   When Charlene (Charlie) returns to her … Continue reading Darkest Journey by Heather Graham

The Confectioner’s Tale by Laura Madeleine

Available Sept 20: The Confectioner’s Tale ****4.5/5 stars The Confectioner’s Tale will immerse you in mystery, passion for creating desserts and a turn-of-the-century love affair. Recommended readers: If you like stories uncovering the past If you’re a fan of generational, historical sagas If you enjoy a turn of the century, changing of times family drama If you liked Lilac Girls, Everyone Brave is Forgiven and more historical drama Here’s … Continue reading The Confectioner’s Tale by Laura Madeleine

Shoe Dog by Phil Knight

Available Now: Shoe Dog: A Memoir by the Creator of Nike *****5/5 stars- loved it The founder of Nike tells you how he barely succeeded in making the biggest brand on the planet. Recommended readers: If you’re an entrepreneur or business person If you think building a business is easy And if you’re enthralled with the mega brand called Nike Here’s my Rankings: 5/5 overall REVIEW FROM BOOKS … Continue reading Shoe Dog by Phil Knight

All the Missing Girls by Megan Miranda

Available June 28: All the Missing Girls ****4.5/5 stars A scary-good psychological thriller, All the Missing Girls will rock your mind with haunted characters and a  reverse chronological plot. Recommended readers: Fans of Gillian Flynn’s Gone Girl, Paula Hawkin’s The Girl on the Train If you like psychological thrillers If you want a brain-busting, page-turner Here’s my Rankings: 4/5 for characters 5/5 for plot 4.5/5 overall … Continue reading All the Missing Girls by Megan Miranda